My Ultimate Skor Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.

19 Oct

Well that came out of nowhere, didn’t it?

I have been channelling my inner yenta lately and have been taking baked goods wherever I go.  You know… I’m one of those people who, when they ask:  “anything I can bring?”… Instead of bringing nothing, as aked, or perhaps a bottle of wine, I bring something homemade too.  I have taken this a bit far now, and take home baking to almost all my business meetings.  Sales are way up!  

This recipe was inspired by Jeffrey Steingarten’s ‘Best Chocolate Cookie Recipe So Far’ from one of his books.  I can’t remember which one it was.  His basic argument was force as much butter into a cookie dough as possible.  He is so right.  I have tweaked the recipe to my family’s tastes, and add Skor bits from the bulk store for fun.

Ultimate Skor Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups ap flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1  lb salted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar (I use Demerara sugar) 
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1 cup toffee bits – sometimes called ‘Skor bits’ at the bulk store

 

Makes approx. 40 cookies.

 

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

-Let butter come to room temperature, add to sugar and vanilla in a mixing bowl and mix until nicely creamed together and pale in colour

-Combine flour and baking soda in separate bowl.  Blend well with fork

-Add egg to the sugar and butter mix.  While mixing, add flour mixture and chocolate and toffee  bits

-Roll into balls the size of ping pong balls and space out on parchment lined cookie sheets.  Cookies will spread during baking.

-Bake  for 15 – 18 minutes or until cookie edges are crisp and the centres are still spongy and soft.  They won’t look done – but take them out now and let them cool on the sheets.

-This cookie should be a bit chewy.  If you want it crisp, leave them in the oven a bit longer. 

-Once cool, store in airtight container to maintain freshness. 

- This dough freezes well.  Roll into narrow logs and store wrapped in plastic and inserted into a paper towel roll to keep the shape… cut into rounds and bake these from frozen… an extra 2 minutes.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “My Ultimate Skor Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.”

  1. managermamma December 15, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    In Italy we don’t get chocolate chip cookies, although recently they sell Italian-made ones in some supermarkets. I prefer making them at home though, I’ll use your recipe. Thank you! Would you have a recipe for classic bagels, I ate them in New York but I don’t have a good recipe for making them at home.

    • Cook Like a Yenta January 11, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      NO CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES??? That is inhumane! I hope you tried this recipe and loved it. Happy baking!

  2. Sabrina Lynn Russell June 20, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    i did this once cept, instead of u cup of choco chips i add like the entire bag same with the skor bits its rlly good

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

