Welcome!

17 Sep

A Yenta (or Yentah) is defined in the Urban Dictionary as:

Yiddish – Meddler, gossiper, meddlesome, busybody, nuisance. Mostly Judaic and female.
 
Usage:
Those three Yentas keep trying to set me up with their grandsons.
 
In my experience, they also make a killer Matzah Ball soup, know their way around a brisket blindfolded, and can singlehandedly feed an army.  (sometimes with no electrical power!) 
 
This summer I married the most wonderful man in the world. He’s Jewish.  (Reform, maybe even Secular Humanist, according to Judaism for Dummies)  He has never kept a Kosher kitchen and I was raised a lapsed Anglican.  Having said that, keeping Jewish traditions alive is important to him, and there are holidays and traditions we look forward celebrating as a family:  Rosh Hashannah, Yom Kippur, Hannukah, Passover…  and I am the girl who throws parties.   
 
Me:  “Hey honey, Patrick Swayze just passed away and I think we should celebrate his life … let’s have some people over and have a Dirty Dancing themed memorial!!   You and me, we can practice that lift thing in the back yard till we get it right!” 
 
Him:  “Sweetie.  If it’s that important to you, OK.  No one puts baby in the corner.”
 
Now I’m the kind of girl who wants to do something right, or not at all.  So with the Rosh Hashannah (Jewish new year) coming up fast, we sent out some invites and I started planning what any good host provides… the food.  
 
Now.  I have thrown my share of dinner parties.  I love to cook.  It’s like my favourite hobby.  EVER.  I knew from attending some of my husband’s family events over the past couple of years that I had a challenge ahead of me… but I really did not realize the amount of work involved – and the thought that must go into a meal that is ‘kosher style’.  This is going to be a challenge.  It’s on Saturday.  Here’s the menu:
 
Chicken Soup with Egg Noodles and Beef Kreplach (homemade)
Chullah (homemade!  Ack!)
Smoked Brisket (smoked by yours truly)
Jewish ‘Gnocchi’ tossed in Schmaltz and Breadcrumbs (mmmm… schmaltz)
Israeli Cous Cous Salad with Grilled Summer Squash
Mixed Green Salad with Caper Vinaigrette
Green Beans Almondine
Mixed Sours
 
Dessert:
Honey and Apples
Fruit Sorbet
Mixed Fruit Salad
Apple Pie (veg shortening crust)
 
Here’s where I am at.  Kreplach are made and in the freezer, uncooked.  Jewish ‘Gnocchi’ are in the freezer, uncooked.  Schmaltz is rendered, honey and apples purchased.  I have in hand a reliable chullah recipe… what could go wrong? 
 
…to be continued…
 
 
 
One Response to “Welcome!”

  1. freakazoid glazermabobber September 18, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    I remember when I was growing up (late 60s) my Bubbie used to call all of the outgoing (fun loving) women yentas. I asked her many times what it meant and the best she could come up with was “She likes to rock the boat”. It was ALWAYS used as an off handed type of compliment and never as an insult.

    Now I think I know the “real” (ie non dictionary and historical books) definition. My definition is one who stops at nothing to achieve what others only dream of.

    I’m dying to read how this shiksa’s (now THAT is a derogatory term) Jewish dinner turns out.

    Great blog! Very funny

Leave a Reply

