Kreplach. Are they supposed to be this big?

18 Sep

Now that's a big Kreplach!

 

Just askin’.  Cause they grew.  More than I thought they would.  I am wondering how I am supposed to fit one of these suckers in the bowls I have with a matzah ball, and noodles.  Maybe I will have to cut them in half.  On the up side, I did try one of the more grotesque looking specimens and it tasted great! 

You know, no one’s going to have any appetite left after eating this soup.  Maybe I can get away with just a salad to go with it.  I know, I know… I’ve come this far.  Too far to give up now!

The stock is now done.  So that’s two things down.  Oh, and I boiled the gnocchi:

A bit gluey looking, no?

 

They do look a titch gluey, don’t they.  I am quite sure I didn’t overcook them… and they will be fried in breadcrumbs and schmaltz tomorrow and held in an oven for a while.  so I am hoping that the gluey bits around the edges get crispy when I fry them, and any undercooking will be corrected in the oven.  Here’s hoping.  Right now they look a little like soggy packing peanuts. 

I only have another hour to go before I have to leave the house for the rest of the afternoon.  Everything else will have to wait until tomorrow. 

It’ll be fine, right?

I’m firing up that smoker at 7am.

Leave a Reply

