Shana Tova is pronounced…

21 Sep

‘Shanatova.’ not ‘Shanna Tova’.  Just for future reference.  And while we’re on the topic, ‘matzah’  (sometimes ‘motzoh’ on the cracker boxes) is not pronounced Mottsa, but Muttza.  Now you know. 

Now that we have that straight, I have an apology to make. 

Arthur Schwartz, I am sorry I doubted you.

Jewish Home Cooking by Arthur Schwartz

Jewish Home Cooking by Arthur Schwartz

 While your five strand chullah braiding diagram left me mystified, and the preparation of the Shlishkes (I called them gnocchi in my previous posts) was labour intensive,  I must admit that you hit it out of the ball park with this one!  What started out looking like a mess of packing peanuts left out in the rain ended up looking like this:

 

Shlishkes... they are the new gnocchi!

So thank you, Arthur!  Of course when I unveiled them at the table and announced “the Schlishkes are ready!” no one knew what the heck I was talking about.  So I pulled out your book and we all shared a learning moment.  They were delicious.  Schmaltzy, crispy, potatoey goodness. 

I served the shlishkes with smoked brisket, which I cooked in my smoker to ‘medium’.  Now I understand this was a courageous choice because typically, I am told, the brisket has a texture roughly equal to shoe leather and is cooked grey.  Horseradish on the side and some pickled peppers (just hacked your pickled beets recipe Arthur, they turned out great) half sours and full sours, and pickled onions.  

The cous cous salad, a completely ad-libbed recipe (using random ingredients I happened to have on hand) was a triumph!  I cooked the cous cous with a vegetable stock and stirred in some sauteed onions and mushrooms.  Then I diced a butternut squash and fried it in a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and steamed it for a couple of minutes.  Here’s the final result:

Cous Cous Salad with Butternut Squash

Cous Cous Salad with Butternut Squash

 Now my dad called this ‘ball bearing salad’.  Very funny, dad. 

 

One Response to “Shana Tova is pronounced…”

  1. jessi September 30, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    dear site personie,
    where is dough man???? i made him wif u 😦

Leave a Reply

