In search of a local, seasonal, organic etrog.

28 Sep

So dear readers, guess what?  I am driving my husband crazy with all this talk of cooking ‘Jewish’.   He even told me so.  Never has he been forced to give the subject this much thought and the more he thinks about it – the more he wants sushi.  Sure, it was cute and interesting at first, but I feel he may have reached his limit.

Tonight after our Yom Kippur dinner at his sister’s house, he gave a very definitive ‘NO!’ to the idea of having the guys over from hockey to build a Sukkah.  Sukkot, a celebration of the great outdoors and the harvest celebration.  Where the men build a four sided structure that we sleep in and eat in for a whole week.  Sounds fun, no? 

Apparently no. 

“BUT,” I insisted, “We can  do it the easy way.  Let’s put up one of our camping tents and enjoy a picnic inside it to get a bit of the flavour of the thing”.  He left the room. 

Seeking to woo him back with lots of exciting Sukkot recipes, I did some preliminary digging in my copy of Judaism for Dummies.  Hmmm… not much talk of food here for a harvest festival.  Some mention of nuts and sweet things and wine… but wait!  What’s this?  An etrog!  That’s a ‘citron’… apparently similar to a large lemon.   I must have one! 

Since Sukkot begins on October 3, coincidentally the same day we are celebrating with 70 of our closest friends at our house (just got married) my next mission will be to  go on an etrog hunt and try to incorporate some into the evening somehow.  Hey, it’s a start.  Wonder if anyone will notice.  Maybe an etrog sorbet or etrog punch will be exciting.

The etrog.  Kinda like a lemon, but not.

The etrog. Kinda like a lemon, but not.

OK.  So I conceded defeat on Sukkot – but watch out – Simchat Torah is coming!!!  That’s the holiday where the Jewish people finish reading the Torah, celebrate, and start reading it all over again.  October 10.  The same weekend as Thanksgiving.  I am sure I can rustle up something fabulous for that. 

Until then, it’s all about etrogs.

4 Responses to “In search of a local, seasonal, organic etrog.”

  1. Vanessa October 2, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    I was wondering when you were going to get the big reveal on the cost of an Etrog! You have to rent the film Ushpizin.
    It’s an amazing story about the search for one and Sukkot. Seriously -rent it!

  2. Frank Scurley October 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  3. Polprav October 21, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

Leave a Reply

